Providing leadership in public health management
Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register


Sponsor Offer



Member Highlight


Creating Change in Sudbury District!

Sudbury & District Health Unit’s  You Can Create Change campaign raises awareness of the social and economic factors that determine health and inspires people to take action. Check out their website and the ever-growing list of how people can make a difference. 

Learn more here.


  Previous highlights



Board of Directors 2017-18
Share |

During the Annual General Meeting held each spring, alPHa elects a Board of Directors composed of seven members from the Boards of Health (BOH) Section and seven members from the Council of Ontario Medical Officers of Health (COMOH). The balance of the alPHa Board is composed of one representative from each of the seven Affiliate organizations and one non-voting representative from the Ontario Public Health Association. The Board meets regularly throughout the year to consider matters of policy, priorities, and governance.

If you are a member of the Board of Directors please click here to login.

Members of the 2017-2018 alPHa Board of Directors are as follows:

Executive Committee
     President  / BOH Representative, South West Region Carmen McGregor
     Past President / COMOH Representative, Central East Region Dr. Robert Kyle (mid-term replacement for Dr. Valerie Jaeger).
     Vice President / COMOH Chair / COMOH Representative, North Region Dr. Penny Sutcliffe
     BOH Section Chair / BOH Representative, North West Region Trudy Sachowski
     Treasurer / BOH North East Region Gilles Chartrand
     Affiliate Executive Representative / OAPHD* Paul Sharma
BOH Representative, Central West Region Terry Whitehead
BOH Representative, East Region Wess Garrod
BOH Representative, Central East Region David Pickles
BOH Representative, Toronto Stacey Berry
COMOH Representative, Central West Region Dr. Andrea Feller
COMOH Representative, South West Region Dr. Miriam Klassen
COMOH Representative, East Region Dr. Paula Stewart
COMOH Representative, Toronto Dr. Howard Shapiro
COMOH Representative, South West Region Dr. Chris Mackie
Affiliate Representative, AOPHBA* Don West
Affiliate Representative, APHEO* Emma Tucker
Affiliate Representative, ASPHIO*

Steven Rebellato

Affiliate Representative, HPO* Sandra Laclé
Affiliate Representative, OPHNL* Maureen Cava
Affiliate Representative, ODPH* Tracy Allan-Koester (to May 2018)
Kerry Schubert-Mackey (from May 2018)
Cross-Appointment, OPHA* Karen Ellis Scharfenberg


 * Legend:

AOPHBA = Association of Ontario Public Health Business Administrators

APHEO = Association of Public Health Epidemiologists in Ontario

ASPHIO = Association of Supervisors of Public Health Inspectors of Ontario

HPO = Health Promotion Ontario

OAPHD = Ontario Association of Public Health Dentistry

OPHNL = Ontario Association of Public Health Nursing Leaders

ODPH = Ontario Dietitians in Public Health

OPHA = Ontario Public Health Association

Latest News
Online Surveys

Featured Video

This is Public Health: Durham Region - Infant & Child Development


Public Health provides early intervention services for infants and children from birth to 5-years old.

For Previous Featured Videos click here